top of page

An Honest Review of a Cozy Halloween Mystery

I have this very real problem where when I start reading a book, I feel like I have to finish it, no matter how bad it is. So I'm currently reading the Cozy Halloween Cozy Mystery Boxed Set by Addison Moore because I got it free from Amazon Kindle. These books are some of the worse things I have ever read.

We're going to ignore the fact, for the moment, that romance is probably the only book genre that I 100% will not read. Although these books are positively dripping in sexual tension. The writing is simply awful. She can't keep track of whether the story is in the first or the third person. Every time a character's name is mentioned, they magically appear. Every single character is described as if the main character, Lottie Lemon, wants to jump their bones, and considering that everyone acts like a sex-starved housewife all the time, she probably does.

The supposed mystery in each book is a murder, and Lottie just happens to stumble upon the body, every single time. The rest of the book involves her gathering up her harem of friends and frenemies to 'investigate' by going to random social events where tensions run high, sexual hijinx ensue, and she just happens to hear the murderer discussing the crime with someone else.

Throw in some random ghosts (of people and animals alike) and awkward descriptions of her baked goods, and you have three truly awful books. Addison Moore should drop the mystery charade and write romance novels on purpose.

Recent Posts

See All

Review of 24/7 Demon Mart

I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily. I decided to read this omnibus because it was described as "Clerks meets Evil Dead 2." In that respect, these b

Welcome to the Surway House

Let me preface this review by saying that I found no fault with this book, I did not enjoy it. Some in the Walls by Teymour Shahabi follows Andrew Day as he survives his inaugeration as the Surway hei

Sheep Adventures: Escape

One of my husband's friends came up for a visit recently, and we decided to do some escape rooms while he was here. My favorite escape room, (honestly, the only one I have been to) is Adventures in Ti

bottom of page